Public holidays

January 1 – New Year's Day
April 9 – Good Friday
April 12 – Easter Monday
May 22 – Victoria Day
July 1 – Canada Day
September 4 – Labour Day
October 9 – Thanksgiving Day
November 11 – Remembrance Day (government offices and banks only)
December 25 – Christmas Day
December 26 – Boxing Day


Canada’s climate is varied and changeable.

The regions near the coast or the Great Lakes have milder winters and cooler summers than the interior.

July and August are mostly warm throughout the country, even including the north.

All large Canadian towns are geared to the conditions of cold weather.

For weather details in Canada, please visit the World Meteorological Organization.


Oanda currency converter

The Canadian currency is the dollar made up of 100 cents. Coins are made up of 1 cent (penny), 5 cents (nickel), 10 cents (dime), 25 cents (quarter) and $1 (known as the ‘loonie’ after the bird on the face) and $2. Notes come in $5, $10, $50, $100, $500 and $1000 denominations.

Time zones and time differences

Canada has six time zones, however, only 4.5 hours separate Newfoundland from British Columbia:

  • Newfoundland is on Newfoundland Standard Time (12 hours 30 minutes behind AEST).
  • The Maritimes and Labrador are on Atlantic Standard Time (13 hours behind AEST).
  • Quebec and most of Ontario are on Eastern Standard Time (14 hours behind AEST).
  • Manitoba, the Northwest corner of Ontario and Eastern Saskatchewan are on Central Standard Time (15 hours behind AEST).
  • West Saskatchewan, Alberta and a slice of northeast British Columbia are on Mountain Standard Time (16 hours behind AEST).
  • The Yukon and the bulk of British Columbia are on Pacific Standard Time (17 hours behind AEST).

The Northwest Territories run from Eastern to Mountain Standard Time.

Daylight saving is in effect in all regions with the exception of Saskatchewan and northeast British Columbia from the first Sunday in April to the last Saturday in October.

To find out the current time in Ottawa, view the World Clock.

Dialling codes

Canada's country code is 1.

For calls to Canada from Australia dial: 0011 + 1 + area code + telephone number.

For calls from Canada to Australia dial: 011 + 61 + area code + telephone number.

For further information (eg. area codes) please visit the White Pages - international dialling codes.

Electricity and water

Canada's power supply is 120 volts, 60Hz; 1, 3  phase, 3, 4 wires. The twin flat-pin blades above a round pin is the plug used.

Links and resources

Travel and tourism

Canadian Tourism Commission –

Please note: this list of websites and resources is not definitive. Inclusion in this list does not imply endorsement by Austrade. The information provided is a guide only.