Business hours

Businesses are open from 9.00am to 6.00pm, Monday to Friday. Most government offices are open five days a week. However, private businesses may follow a five or six-day working week.

Public holidays

June 8 – Queen’s Birthday
August 28 – Onam
September 25 – Id-ul-Zuha(Bakrid)
October 2 – Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday
October 22 – Dussehra
November 11 – Diwali
November 12 – Govardhan Puja
December 24 – Additional DFAT Holiday
December 25 – Christmas Day

There are additional location and state specific holidays that are not covered above.


India's climate is tropical monsoon. There are four distinct seasons:

  • Winter (January to February)
  • Summer (March to May)
  • Rainy south-western Monsoon (June to September)
  • Post-monsoon (October to December)

For weather details in India, please visit the World Meteorological Organization.


Oanda currency converter

Indian monetary system consists of rupees (mostly 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500 and 1000 rupee currency notes) and paise (pronounced pay-say), which includes coins of 50 paise, 1 rupee and five rupee denominations.

Time zones and time differences

India is four-and-a-half hours behind Australian Eastern Standard Time.

To find out the current time in New Delhi, visit the World Clock.

Dialling codes

India's country code is +91.

For calls to India from Australia dial: 0011 + 91 + area code + telephone number.

For calls from India to Australia dial: 00 + 61 + area code + telephone number.

For further information (e.g. area codes) please visit the International dialling codes.

Electricity and water

India’s power supply is 220 volts, 50Hz 1, 3 phases, generally 2, 3 and 2, 4 wires. The round two-pin plugs are the most common.

Links and resources

Travel and tourism

Incredible India

Please note: this list of websites and resources is not definitive. Inclusion in this list does not imply endorsement by Austrade. The information provided is a guide only.