Section 1

Why ASEAN Matters to Australia


The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was formed in 1967 by Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. The grouping later expanded to include Brunei Darussalam, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar and Cambodia.

In November 2015, ASEAN declared itself as the ASEAN Community. This includes the ASEAN Economic Community which provides a framework for simplifying and standardising the trade and business environments among ASEAN Member States.