Business hours

Government offices are open from 7.45am to 12.15pm and 1.30pm to 4.30pm, Monday to Thursday and Saturday. During the fasting month, Brunei Government working hours are from 8.00am to 2.00pm.

Banks are generally open from 9.00am to 3.00pm, Monday to Friday and 9.00am to 11.00am on Saturday. Some banks offer extended customer service hours during weekdays and on weekends.

Commercial businesses are generally open from 8.00am until noon and 1.15pm to 5.00pm, Monday to Friday and 8.00am until noon on Saturday.

Shops are open from 7.30am to 8.00pm/9.00pm during the week. Malls generally operate business activities from 10.00am to 10.00pm.

All establishments (offices, shops, restaurants etc.) close during Friday prayer time from 12.00 noon to 2.00pm.

Public holidays

January 1 – New Year's Day
February 23 – National Day
May 31 – Royal Brunei Armed Forces Day
July 15 – The Birthday of the Sultan of Brunei
Dec 25 – Christmas Day

First day of Ramadhan (Islamic holiday, subject to change)
Hari Raya (Islamic holiday, subject to change)
The Birthday of Prophet Muhammad (Islamic holiday, subject to change)
Hari Raya Haji (Islamic holiday, subject to change)
Anniversary of the Revelation of the Qur’an (Islamic holiday, subject to change)
First Day of Hijrah (Islamic holiday, subject to change)
Isra’ Miraj (Islamic holiday, subject to change)
Chinese New Year (subject to change)


Brunei has a tropical climate with high rainfall and warm temperature all year round. Brunei is not directly in the path of tropical storms, cyclones and typhoons, although it is heavily affected by tides.

Monsoon winds influence the climatic variations. The northeast monsoon occurs from December to March, while the southeast monsoon occurs from June to October.

The annual rainfall is generally high with two rainy periods occurring from September to January, and May to June. March and April are the warmest months and humidity is high throughout the year.

For weather details in Brunei, please visit the World Meteorological Organization.


Oanda currency converter

The official currency is the Brunei dollar (B$).

Time zones and time differences

Brunei is two hours behind Australian Eastern Standard Time.

To find out the current time in Bandar Seri Begawan, view the World Clock.

Dialling codes

Brunei's country code is 673.

For calls to Brunei from Australia dial: 0011 + 673 + area code + telephone number.

For calls from Brunei to Australia dial: 00 + 61 + area code + telephone number.

For further information (eg. area codes) please visit the international dialling codes.

Electricity and water

Electricity supply in Brunei is 240 volts, 50 cycles. Standard plugs have three round or square pins.