Passports and entry visas are required for all foreigners entering India. Tourist and business visas may be obtained from the nearest Indian High Commission or consulate in your country. Any foreign national arriving into India for a period of more than six months is required to register with the Foreigner Regional Registration Office (FRRO) within a period of 14 days of arrival. If the visit is under six months, the registration requirement will be as per the visa condition stamped on the visa issued.

Prior permission is required from the Indian authorities to visit certain parts of the country, particularly in the north-east, permits are required for:

  • Mizoram
  • Manipur
  • Nagaland
  • Arunachal Pradesh
  • Sikkim
  • parts of Kullu District and Spiti District of Himachal Pradesh
  • border areas of Jammu and Kashmir
  • some areas of Uttar Pradesh
  • parts of Rajasthan adjacent to the international border
  • the Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

The permit approval process for travel to certain parts of India can take up to two months. Advice on particular requirements should be sought from your travel agent or from the Indian mission in the city closest to you.

For further information on applying for a visa visit VFS.Global.