Board members announced for Northern Australia Cooperative Research Centre

22 Feb 2017

The Australian Government has announced the board members of the A$75 million Cooperative Research Centre (CRC) for Developing Northern Australia, which is responsible for attracting beneficial research projects to the region.

The CRC, which will be headquartered in Townsville (as part of the Townsville City Deal) will be chaired by Cairns-based businesswoman Sheriden Morris. Other board members include representatives from Queensland, Western Australia and the Northern Territory.

The CRC is industry-led and will build on existing research, expertise and networks to quickly identify areas where collaborative research can deliver real-world outcomes and commercial opportunities to benefit industries in northern Australia.

The CRC will also establish strong links with the Australian Government’s flagship initiative, Industry Growth Centres.

The federal government has also called for applications for the CRC for Developing Northern Australia Project Funding Round. A$3 million in funding will support short-term, industry-led research collaborations to develop new technologies, products and services that address industry issues and deliver tangible outcomes for northern Australia.

For more information on the Northern Australia Project Funding Round, contact AusIndustry on 13 28 46 (in Australia).

For further information on the CRC for Developing Northern Australia, please contact the CRC for Developing Northern Australia Secretariat on +61-2-6213-6890 or email