The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) has released a set of guidelines called Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG). These guidelines presently comprise the international standard for web accessibility. There are three levels of conformance (A, AA and AAA).

The Australian Government’s Web Accessibility National Transition Strategy (NTS) required that all government web properties and web content on them met the WCAG 2.0 Level A compliance by 31 December 2012 and Level AA compliance by 31 December 2014.

Austrade is committed to the NTS and improving the accessibility of its online properties and the information, content, and services delivered to its users via these properties.

At present, not all of information, content, and services available from Austrade’s online properties meet Level A compliance, though the majority do, and some meet Level AA compliance.

Austrade is vigilant in its efforts to achieve compliance and has adopted an approach of continual improvement.

If you are having difficulty accessing any web materials produced by Austrade, please contact our Accessibility Officer at and provide the following information:

  • Your contact details
  • The location of the page you are accessing
  • The operating system and browser version you are using
  • Any other software you are using
  • The nature of the problem you are experiencing.

Austrade will then make arrangements to provide you with the information you are seeking in an accessible manner.