Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (RCEP)

This is a regional free trade agreement with 14 Indo-Pacific countries.

Main content

What RCEP offers

The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (RCEP) builds upon Australia’s existing free trade agreements with Indo-Pacific countries.

RCEP entered into force on 1 January 2022 for:

  • Australia
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • Japan
  • Laos
  • New Zealand
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam.

It entered into force on:

  • 1 February 2022 for Republic of Korea
  • 18 March 2022 for Malaysia
  • 2 January 2023 for Indonesia
  • 2 June 2023 for Philippines.

Learn more about visas, tax requirements, priority business and product sectors using the Go Global Toolkit’s explore markets tool.

FTA Portal

The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) has an FTA Portal. It’s a comprehensive resource for exporters, and importers of goods and services looking to explore:

  • the benefits of Australia’s current free trade agreements (FTAs)
  • how to apply for preferential treatment under those FTAs.

More information

For more information, visit the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (RCEP) page on the DFAT website.

Go further, faster with Austrade

Austrade’s Go Global Toolkit helps you learn the export basics, find the right markets and understand market requirements.