Tourism and aviation network support

Status: Discounted tickets are now available

The government’s Tourism and Aviation Network Support Program (TANS) discounts airfares to select tourism regions. Over 800,000 half-price airfares are available.

The program is to help:

  • drive tourism demand for interstate travel
  • support economic recovery in regional Australia.

Regions included in the program

Regions included in the program:

  • Adelaide
  • Broome
  • Darwin
  • Gold Coast
  • Great Ocean Road (Avalon)
  • Hobart, Launceston, Devonport and Burnie
  • Kangaroo Island
  • Lasseter and Alice Springs
  • Merimbula
  • Sunshine Coast
  • Townsville
  • Tropical North Queensland (Cairns)
  • The Whitsundays (Proserpine and Hamilton Island).

Program dates

Discounted tickets are available from 1 April 2021.

Travellers need to book tickets by 28 February 2022, for travel by 28 February 2022.

How to apply

Travellers can buy half-price tickets from these participating airlines:

  • Qantas and Jetstar
  • Virgin Australia
  • Rex
  • Airnorth
  • Alliance
  • Fly Pelican
  • Link Airways.

TANS fact sheet

Read the TANS fact sheet (PDF 131KB) for more information about the program.

About the program

The TANS program forms part of a $1.2 billion government support package. It encourages Australians to travel to key regions greatly impacted by the loss of international tourism.